Relaxation of the Country, Convenience of the City

By Madison Back

Constant horns honking, lights flashing, and crowds bustling can make it nearly impossible to forget that you are living in one of the busiest cities in the world.  Friend of a Farmer café, on the other hand, makes it difficult to remember that you are.

Friend of a Farmer, located just outside of Union Square, is a sweet escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.  The two-story, cozy little restaurant on Irving Place offers breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner seven days a week.  The décor has teleportation-like powers, creating a country vibe that is easy to get caught up in.  Wicker baskets and various rustic trinkets hang from the floral-print walls, leaving you feeling like you’re in the comforts of grandma’s house. 

I began my meal with French Press coffee ($3.50).  It certainly did the trick in waking me up, but I’m not so sure a dollar cup of coffee couldn’t have done the same.  The service was very good, and my food arrived shortly after ordering.  I selected the Healthy Farmer’s Omelette ($13.50) from their breakfast menu – a tough choice between options like homemade granola, eggs Florentine, pumpkin pancakes, and many other mouth-watering options, all ranging in price from $9 to $16.  

The fluffy egg white omelet filled with feta cheese and deliciously sautéed spinach and tomato was so tasty that I didn’t care about the price tag.  I was given the option of home fries, fresh fruit, or toast.  Deciding on the home fries out of fear that the fruit wouldn’t be as fresh as promised, I did not regret my decision, as they provided the hot and crispy quality I was looking for. 

The hearty meal combined with the comfy atmosphere not only satisfied my appetite, but left me wanting to come back for more.  The relaxing escape that Friend of a Farmer provides in both food and ambience is well worth the tab.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

