Mickey Mouse is Taking Over the World

By Jennifer Leevan

Disney Investment Plans- I Get Offers Monthly

Disney Investment Plans- I Get Offers Monthly

The Walt Disney Company owns seemingly everything from ESPN and ABC, to Marvel Entertainment and more than a dozen other media companies. I’d like to pretend that I understand exactly how a man who had an idea about a mouse while he was riding on a train became one of the most known names in the world, but I cannot. I had no idea that Disney owned movie-producing companies like Touchstone Pictures and Marvel Entertainment, the infamous companies that created movies such as “The Nightmare Before Christmas,” “Good Morning, Vietnam,” and “The Avengers.”

Don’t get me wrong–I love the movies that these companies release, I watch ESPN on a weekly basis, I love Disney world, and I even work for ABC’s The View which is a division of Disney’s Media Network… but at what point does a company like Disney have too much power?

While a stock price of $49.86 may not seem high and is even down from its 52-week high of $53.40, Disney (DIS) as a whole is worth quite a substantial sum. With a market cap of $89.46 billion and 1.79 billion outstanding shares the Disney corporation is a titan to say the least. The Ceo, Bob Iger, makes $28 Million dollars a year and unlike the people on Wall Street who amass similar annual salaries, Disney doesn’t seem “too big too fail,” only “too big to be stopped.” But with delightful characters like Mickey, Donald, and Goofy as well as newer characters such as Wreck-it-Ralph, Nemo, and Tiana Disney seems to be unstoppable and lovable at the same time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

