Never-Stopping

By Clara Yang

 

Image
Trail by Hudson River

 

You check the time.  It’s 11am.  You check the time again.  It’s 5pm.  Then, you get ready to catch the subway.  Without realizing how much time has passed, you grab your outer coat to head out, just following your every day routine.  Insensibility to time and its progression may be the result of a busy life in highly technological environment, New York.  By sacrificing technology for a day, I was able appreciate time and follow its continuous flow.

Without the alarm clock’s blaring ringing, I started out my day as my eyes habitually opened as the same time they would every morning.  Without checking my phone for emails, Facebook notifications, or texts, I realized there wasn’t anything else for me to do.  Perhaps, I just didn’t know what else to do without an order from my phone.  Not pushing myself to get out of the bed, not rushing through breakfast, and not hurrying to get somewhere, I stayed where I was for a good amount of time.  

I checked the time and it was 8:30am, which normally was my “leave now” signal.  But without my phone telling me where to go or a reason to go somewhere, 8:30am was no longer a cue or a reminder.  It was simply just time.

After satisfying my grouching stomach with cereal, I was lost what to do next.  A day without technology meant no phone, no laptop, no tablet, and just literally, no technology.  I never realized how much of sense of time I have lost, studying, working, or entertaining myself with technology.  As I was staring into a blank space, I learned how insensible I had become to the concept of time.  Now that I was sitting at the same place for couple of minutes without doing anything, I realized one full minute is actually a lot of time. 

Learned to appreciate every single minute, I decided to pick up a book that I placed aside with an excuse of “I have no time.”  I finished the book in just two hours.  For each sentence I read, I was aware of time’s ticking away.  However, each second was spent worthwhile and appreciated. 

The last page of the book left me an opportunity for another activity, so I walked out to the Hudson River.  Not aware of the time, but by then, regained my sensibility of time, I was able to enjoy every moment of my walk by the river.  Every minute of the time had become precious, meaningful, and valued.  As I stared across the river to New York City, I was able to see yesterday’s myself amongst other New Yorkers.  Yesterday’s myself was juggling through various tasks, receiving number of emails, managing different studies, and working on several projects.  Not aware of the time’s continuous flow and not recognizing the sense of time, yesterday’s myself was firmly holding onto the cell phone and persistently checking the email. 

Walking through the course of the river trail, I reset my belief.  Till this day, I believed 24 hours a day was just not enough time.  However, I realized it is enough time, a lot more time than what we think it is and a lot more valuable than how we cherish it.

Leave a comment

March 1, 2013 · 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

